Skip to main content Skip to search

What is a PFS?


The Personal Financial Specialists credential demonstrates that an individual has met the minimum education, experience and testing required of a CPA, in addition to a minimum level of expertise in personal financial planning. To attain the PFS credential a candidate must:

  • Hold an unrevoked CPA license
  • Fulfill 30,000 hours of personal financial planning business experience
  • Complete 80 hours of personal financial planning CPE credits
  • Pass a comprehensive financial planning exam
  • Be an active member of the AICPA

To maintain their PFS credential, the recipient must complete 60 hours of financial planning CPE credits every three years. The PFS credential is administered through the AICPA. A PFS credential holder is required to adhere to AICPA’s Code of Professional Conduct, and is encouraged to follow AICPA’s Statement on Responsibilities in Financial Planning Practice.